Office Survival Tip: Tend a Plant

14 Nov

Office Survival Tip: Tend a Plant

Tending plants is a great way to stay motivated at work. Nothing cures a case of office claustrophobia like seeing your oxygen-producing friend thrive under your watchful care. Think of how zen-ful those Buddhist monks in documentaries look, snipping away at their little bonsai trees. Now imagine the same monks dressed in button-down shirts and khakis, surrounded by cubicles, under the glow of soft fluorescent lighting, tending their little desk plants. Well that could be you! Who knows, you might even be inspired to get one of those tiny sand gardens too and rake it every day.

Don’t go overboard though. Remember, this is an office, not a florist. It is generally not appreciated if your plant-hoard starts creeping over your cubicle wall and intruding into your coworkers’ space like some kind of office kudzu.

A word of caution on this one though. I would not suggest plant tending to anyone with a “black thumb”. Slowly watching your beloved new friend wither and die under your inept care tends to have negative effects on your psyche.*

*Note: I have had many, many unsuccessful attempts at plant tending, and thusly given it up. My last tragedy occurred when after several weeks under my incompetent care, I noticed my new plant was looking a tad brown and leafless, so I put it by the window hoping the sun would work its whole chlorophyll-sunlight nature-magic on it. Unfortunately someone took that  lifesaving gesture as me just being too lazy to walk my dead plant all the way to the trash can and decided to deposit it there for me. The worst though, was a tiny plant in one of those hanging glass water pots that I brought to work one day but then forgot to take out of my car. By the time I remembered and ran out to get it, it was too late.  It was mid-August and I guess plants don’t come back from being boiled alive. I still feel terrible about that one, but I take it as a sign from the cubicle gods I’m just not meant to be a plant tender.

8 Responses to “Office Survival Tip: Tend a Plant”

  1. lifeshighwaygame November 14, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    I suggest you go my route and get an office fish. While losing a fish is tragic you are motivated to feed it and when the water looks especially disgusting it is a clear signal that you should probably change it.

    Office plants are too fragile. The dang things plan their own deaths when you step out for coffee. (which by the way is a good tip, feed your plant left over coffee. NOT the kind with lots of creams and candy bar flavoring… black coffee… or diet coke…)

  2. lifeshighwaygame November 14, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    Oh, love the new header…

  3. Fred Wanner November 14, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    I share an office, small, with 8 other people. It is occupied 24×7. We can kill plastic plants. Feeding your plants left over coffee is a good idea if you want to be surrounded by overly aggressive ferns.

  4. sharkables November 15, 2011 at 7:47 am #

    Overly aggressive ferns seems superior to dead ferns. I may have to try again and use the coffee trick, if I can bring myself to subject another innocent plant to my care… Those lucky bamboos seem like they would be easy enough. Although I imagine killing one of those would end up beind detrimental to my karma.

  5. The Hook November 22, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    “Slowly watching your beloved new friend wither and die under your inept care tends to have negative effects on your psyche.*”
    Hilarious!

    • Nouran November 17, 2012 at 2:10 pm #

      OK, a different sogsegtiun from out in left field: Put all your stuff in storage–either in a commercial place or under some kind of temporary shelter on your property. Buy a used travel trailer and install it on your property, making connections to your water, sewer & electricity. Move into it, then reverse the order of your original scheme–demolish first, then build. I’m sure this idea has all sorts of holes of its own, but you should at least be able to get by with the existing septic facility.When you move into the new place, you can try and get some money back out of the travel trailer by reselling it.

  6. galaxy s4 April 29, 2013 at 11:51 am #

    That being said, it can be seen that Apple and Samsung continue to grab market share from other OEMs.
    Music player, P503 supports a variety of media formats. If you don’t like to cook or feel like you don’t have time, there are apps for restaurants
    also.

Leave a Reply

