Office Adventure: Explore the Office Supply Closet

15 Nov

At some point during the work day time comes to a stand-still and we find ourselves entrapped in a state of utter brain-deadness. This phenomena has been given many names such as, “hitting a wall” “running out of steam” or “that 2:30 feeling”. Luckily there’s a few options for combating this dreaded slump including :

1) grab a 5 Hour Energy(TM)
2)crawl under your desk and take a nap* 
3) go on an Office Adventure

In my opion, Office Adventures are the most beneficial pick-me-up because they’re free and you can often look semi-productive while doing them.

Today’s Office Adventure is Exploring the Office Supply Closet/Cabinet/Drawer. Supply closets are one of the least appreciated yet (sadly) most entertaining places to visit in the office. In fact, they can become virtual treasure troves of obscure and entertaining items, especially if the office aid is given liberal access to the supply catalog and budget.

Some of my favorite Desk Treasures have included: a FULL set of scented markers (I decided not to be greedy and only took Chocolate), a leather-bound day planner (which I stopped using after 2 weeks when I realized Outlook was performing the same job for me, only better), and a rubber finger page turner thingy (which I’ve never used since 95% of my “paperwork” is digital, but still).

Even if you can’t find any Desk Treasures, you should at least be able to scrounge up a pack of neon post-its or two. I don’t know about you, but a fresh pack of post-its always brightens my day. Sometimes achieving cubicle happiness is about enjoying the small things. The very small things.

And Remember, highlighting a document in green has been proven to be at least 75% more entertaining than highlighting a document in yellow.

*Note: I’m not exaggerating on this one, I know someone who does this. He’s got a blanket and pillow under his desk and everything, so it IS a viable option.

17 Responses to “Office Adventure: Explore the Office Supply Closet”

  1. Lifes Highway (@lifeshighway) November 15, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    and so you reveal another of my secret.

    I have amassed a rainbow collection of highlighters. Someone in accounting is addicted to them and she orders them by the boatload but I have never scored anything as wonderful as scented markers.

    Also I love binder clips… all sizes. Because I don’t use a lot of paper, I like to stick them on things or in extreme, put them on my fingers and wave them around.

  2. sharkables November 16, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    I’ve bounced around several departments over the last few years so that’s given me plenty of different supply cabinets to raid.

    However, my new department has something called “the vault” which the share with everyone else in the building. In order to get supplies from “the vault” you have to write down exactly what you want (e.g. 2 green highlighters), you department and manager, and then hand it to an attendent who goes into a mystery room and gets it for you. This takes the fun out of everything. And whenever I go I’m constantly plauged by the thought that the mysetery room is filled with unknown amazing Desk Treasures that I don’t have the justification to ask for…

    • Lifes Highway (@lifeshighway) November 16, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

      shine up your social skills and buddy up with vault-mistress. Could go something like this: oh you have a headache… I am so sorry, can I do something for you? Perhaps you would like me to a run an errand for you. (I stop at rubbing people’s feet… there is no desk doo-dad worthy of that debasement)

  3. The Hook November 22, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Way to make work fun, you crazy shark!

    • Tom November 17, 2012 at 4:01 am #

      I actually have some peep-toe wedegs in black. They’re not too high so they’re good to start since I’m not used to heels that much, but they’re awesome. I bought them because the faux cork reminded me of the wedegs Kate Middleton wears so often (I covet them. I covet ALL her clothing!). I’ll probably wear them on Tuesday. And thank you!

  4. Ronnie/Hurtled to 60 November 23, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    I love the office stationery cupboard, always full of goodies that I collect but know will never use.

  5. John @ Start Mission November 23, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I found about 3 old blackberries. I clipped them all onto my belt in order from newest to oldest. I felt like batman with an awesome utility belt!

    The next day I took a box of pens and hooked/clipped each of them onto my belt. It made me look like I was wearing a belt full of bullets.

    So awesome

    • sharkables November 24, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

      That IS awesome! Way to make yourself a general office badass by only using supply closet props!

      • John @ Start Mission November 25, 2011 at 11:30 am #

        When my boss saw me, she quickly glanced away and uttered “Dear God”. Oh yeah…the pens are mightier than the sword!

      • Jose November 17, 2012 at 6:40 pm #

        Nine cats. Two dogs. Even if the county would allow a taielrr — which they won’t, there’s a bylaw — we couldn’t all fit.Also, part the reason we’re replacing the exisiting septic is because it was built by the two drunk brothers would built our house and we’d like to actually know it was done right. As I mentioned, they were roofers and even the roof sucks.

    • Geferson November 19, 2012 at 12:05 am #

      Definitely consider that which you staetd. Your favourite justification appeared to be at the web the simplest factor to take into account of. I say to you, I certainly get irked even as folks consider concerns that they just don’t understand about. You controlled to hit the nail upon the highest and also defined out the whole thing without having side effect , folks can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more. Thank you

  6. Sunshine November 25, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    Lol at the note!! The hero of the day 🙂

  7. amandanpowers November 28, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    I did just this today and my efforts were very fruitful. I now have my very own tiny and pointless clip. It is worthless and I won’t be able to use it for anything but it is my worthless little prize!

    • sharkables November 29, 2011 at 6:14 am #

      Haha that’s great, I bet supply closet exploring does appeal to you…I hope you think of me every time you don’t use it!

  8. Money matters when you want to live in a
    nice neighborhood. The AARP helps you compare plans at and down-load
    the program, Home Made Money; see also, National Reverse Mortgage Lenders
    Association (. To view the IRS instructions for the Schedule A from
    2010, click here.

  9. Hong Konglast second inn inn discounts. May 21, 2014 at 11:27 am #

    Greetings I am so glad I found your web site, I really found
    you by mistake, while I was researching on Google
    for something else, Anyhow I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a fantastic post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to go through it all at the moment
    but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome work.

  10. Incredible! This blog looks exactly like my old one!
    It’s on a totally different subject but it has pretty much the same
    page layout and design. Superb choice of colors!

Leave a Reply

