Holiday Survival Tip: Thanksgiving

24 Nov

 

Happy Thanksgiving!

Remember to count your blessings today, like the fact that you get to pack a turkey and stuffing sandwich and a slice of pumpkin pie in your lunchbox on Monday. Or that from now until December 25th it is socially acceptable to listen to Christmas music exclusively, and at least one radio station in your area will be devoted to letting you do so. Or that tomorrow is the best day of the year if waking up before the butt crack of dawn to wait outside in long lines is your thing.

Or you know, that whole food, family, friends, and football thing is pretty cool too.

Personally, I am thankful to WordPress for plucking my little blog out of obscurity and Freshly Pressing it. But more importantly, I want to give thanks to everyone who has read, liked, commented, followed, tweeted, or generally enjoyed Sharkables. In return, I plan to provide you with many more survival tips, office adventures, and other random (but invaluable!) aids for letting office life be easy.

 So enjoy your Turkey Day! May you consume large amounts of whatever your traditional foods are, and lapse into a blissful, tryptophan-induced coma.

18 Responses to “Holiday Survival Tip: Thanksgiving”

  1. bullyinworkplace November 24, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Thanks to you for a wonderful enjoyable blog! And, enjoy your own Tryptophan Day.

  2. Rob Rubin November 24, 2011 at 9:52 am #

    I am really not looking forward to a month of Feliz Navidad and Last Christmas by Wham!.

    Love the shark drawings though!

    Rob, The Mainland

    • sharkables November 24, 2011 at 1:10 pm #

      Ahhhh no, instant earworm with the Wham! reference… that’s going to be drilling its way through my head all day now…

      Thanks for the shark love though!

  3. Fred Wanner November 24, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    Thank you for bringing more amusement into the lives of your readers. Have a wonderful holiday and I look forward to following your adventures.

    • sharkables November 24, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

      Thank YOU for being one of my first followers! Hope you have a great holiday as well!

  4. thewaiting November 24, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    I am thankful for your blog because I can share it with my husband and prove to him that he’s not the only person in our house who can find little gems on the Internet. Happy Thanksgiving!

    • sharkables November 24, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

      Happy Thanksgiving to you as well! And thanks for spreading the shark love to your husband!

  5. The Hook November 24, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    “So enjoy your Turkey Day! May you consume large amounts of whatever your traditional foods are, and lapse into a blissful, tryptophan-induced coma.”
    You are seriously skilled, you crazy shark!

    • sharkables November 24, 2011 at 7:16 pm #

      Haha, thank you, thank you. Hope you had an awesome Thanksgiving!

  6. Anonymous November 24, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    This truly is the most awesomest blog I’ve seen for a long time! Thanks for many laughs this week, I read probably all your entrys.

    Greetings from Sweden.
    🙂

    • sharkables November 24, 2011 at 7:21 pm #

      Tack så mycket!

      I hope I got that right. I kind of just typed it into Google translate, but I was really excited that I got a Swedish reader so I wanted to give you a proper welcome

      • E November 25, 2011 at 6:09 am #

        Varsågod! (You’re welcome.)

        Yes, that’s absolutely right. Just because you answered in swedish I will hopefully get you some more followers, and I actually kind of already shared the link on facebook. 😛
        You will get huge one day, so prepare for stardom in cyberspace. 😛

  7. Sandra Parsons November 25, 2011 at 6:16 pm #

    Why, thank YOU for reminding me that there is a fun side to office life. I admit I haven’t seen an office from the inside in a long time but I still remember those days with mixed emotions. Nowadays I’m closer to sharks than anything (being a marine biologist and dive instructor), so no question, I am hooked, line and sinker, to your blog. Enjoy Thanksgiving and keep the good stuff coming.

    PS: I can’t believe you know the term ‘earworm’! I have always tried to find an English speaker who wouldn’t look at me funny for borrowing this perfectly apt word from German (my mother tongue). Now go ahead and see what google translate will cough up in terms of a witty reply in German 😉

    • sharkables November 26, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      Dankeschoen! Wie interessant dass du den sprung ins haibecken gemacht hast, da kann ich mir vorstellen dass du mit den haien eine besondere verbindung hast! Wunder dich nicht wenn du demnaechst einen menschen mit taucherbrille in einer meiner illustrationen siehst.

      Zu dem Wort “Ohrwurm”, leider kann ich nich sagen dass dieses wort einen kulturellen hintegrund fuer mich hat, da ich es in einer der episoden von Spongebob Squarepants gelernt habe

      • Sandra Parsons November 26, 2011 at 10:59 am #

        Ok, touché. That was perfect German. Apart from a few missing commas that is but never mind. You don’t happen to be German too, do you? Anyway, can’t wait for the diver comic 🙂

  8. Roadster Collective November 26, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    i love your illustrations, i think a collaboration sometime would yield some pretty interesting results!

  9. adityarathore November 26, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    i follow your blogs time to time happy thanks giving

Leave a Reply

