Sharing Time is Fun Time! Holiday Parties

16 Dec

So originally I was going to write a post about Office Holiday/Christmas Parties. I even had my little Sharkable all feeling toasty and hanging out in his Christmas sweater. Then I sat down to write and realized I’ve never been to a good Office Christmas Party. This is partially my fault, since I usually feel hard-pressed to do anything work related outside of my normal working hours, especially if I have to pay money to do it, thereby excluding almost any Office Holiday Party my company has planned. Therefore I feel kind of hypocritical writing about crazy Christmas-time shenanigans with the co-workers.

So I decided to try something different for this Friday: Sharing Fun Time! Since my readers seem to have much more hilarious stories than I do anyhow, I’m curious, what awesome/awkward/cringe-worthy Office Holiday Party moments have you encountered?

I’ll go first. My best Office Christmas Party story involves a white elephant game where after a long and mighty battle I won a toddler-sized teddy bear dressed up as Santa Claus. I won’t go much farther into it or it’ll start to get boring fast. But I still drag the thing out every year and put it by the fireplace. It scares the piss out of the dog, which is always funny. So go ahead and try to top that one! It shouldn’t be very hard…

12 Responses to “Sharing Time is Fun Time! Holiday Parties”

  1. Rob Rubin December 16, 2011 at 7:48 am #

    During last year’s white elephant game, my gift offering was an autographed copy of my CD (which is available on iTunes for $9.99 btw) it ended up being the most stolen gift. Of course the winner had to play it in front of everyone when the game was over.

    • sharkables December 19, 2011 at 6:27 am #

      I’m curious about your CD now (and nice plug). Last year I one of my co-workers gave me a CD of Christmas covers he did and it was hilarious. Everyone, lets go try and find Rob’s CD on iTunes now.

  2. Sandra Parsons December 16, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Oh my, a shark in a Christmas jumper. A bit of a Bridget Jones moment here? Plus singing drunken on a table. Oh, sweet memories… Nothing specific, just the fact that for some reason, at every office Christmas do I ever went to, one or two of the prim and proper suits inevitably got blottoed, very much to the amusement of the more demure co-workers like myself.
    By the way, I don’t blame you for ducking out if your company asks you to pay for this crap. Stingy stinkers!

    • sharkables December 19, 2011 at 6:25 am #

      See maybe I’m missing out on something by skipping out on the Christmas parties? It might be entertaining to see some of the higher-ups feeling toasty and possibly making an ass of themselves…but then again I still don’t feel its worth my $15 and Friday evening

  3. eyeLaugh December 16, 2011 at 9:36 am #

    hahaha the sharky is wearing a holiday sweater! so good !

  4. attemptedblog December 17, 2011 at 8:12 am #

    I once attended a work Christmas party on the day someone was fired…and the person came to the party! Awkwaaard….

    • sharkables December 19, 2011 at 6:20 am #

      Haha man that’s rough. Who fires someone on the day of the office Christmas party?

  5. lams21075 December 20, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    Oh boy, past Christmas parties here have been quite entertaining. Lots of drunken buffoonery.

    Let’s see…one year the party was in the atrium of a hotel. It overlooked the indoor pool with a large window. Much to our surprise, we looked over to see one of our technicians stripping down to his underpants and jumping into the pool.

    Another year, several coworkers rented a limo to party pre-party. One coworker ended up with some panties on his head and another tried to carry our Human Resources Manager off the stage while he was collecting his prize.

    Oh, but the most infamous one of all was at the 10 year company anniversary party (my first ever party for this company). One of the games was to decorate someone with Christmas Tree ornaments, garland, etc. Goes like this…drunk manager is standing there being decorated by his wife. Wife is kneeling down at about belt bucket level. Manager pushes wife’s head (oh, yes, he went there), and room becomes silent. Ummm…Manager has never taken another drink since then.

    Ah, Christmas. Good times.

    • sharkables December 21, 2011 at 3:51 pm #

      Hahaha ahh… those are great… I’m almost getting inspired to attend next year’s Christmas festivities. The only thing holding me back now is fear that all these stories are going to put way too high of expectations for drunken antics for my coworkers

  6. The Background Story December 21, 2011 at 4:04 am #

    I have lots of cringe-worthy office Christmas party stories and they all involve me being drunk.

    • sharkables December 21, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

      Sounds entertaining! Care to share any details?

Leave a Reply

