Office Adventure: Make A New Year’s Resolution

29 Dec

My New Year’s resolution is: Be less social media-ly retarded. Kind of ironic for a blogger, no?

I like to think I can  hold my own socially out there in the “real world”, but take me online and things go to hell in a hand-basket quickly. I turn into the kid that blurts weird things out at inappropriate times, mixed with that person who stares at you dumbly when you try to start a conversation. This is not a savvy combination.

Of course there are outside forces that compound this issue. For one, though my work is conducive for inspiring blogging, it is non-condusive for actually being a blogger. Crazy right? And thanks to a totalitarian firewall system and an anti-smartphone policy, I can’t even sneak some lunch-break blog perusals and comment replies. Madness. (Although, as Mr. Rubin over at The Mainland has pointed out, work time is a great time to edit blog posts, this doesn’t necessarily further my social media skills).

After I get home from work I’m all cranky, and don’t feel like battling for my stake of the internet connection, and my mouse hand is tired. We’ll stop here for a minute so everyone can inject some comment about first world problems and world’s smallest violin.

So right now my weekday online blogging hours are Monday-Friday 5:45-6:30 am (depending on how long it takes me to microwave my oatmeal). Which doesn’t leave me as much time to comment and peruse WordPress as I’d like.

You want to know worst part though? My mother has a blog, The Yard Art Game (currently on hiatus as she recovers from surgery). It is about bad yard-art and quite hilarious (hilarious-ness runs in our family of course), but I don’t even comment on my own mother’s blog! This moderately gnaws at my conscious.

How am I going to resolve these issues? No idea! But I plan to tackle it in the same unfounded optimism that seems to have served me pretty adequately in life so far.

What are your New Year’s resolutions?

As for the sharkable, I couldn’t figure out how to portray a social media-ly awkward shark, so I fell back on the ever-popular fitness resolution. Besides, who doesn’t love a shark on a treadmill? I had a blast drawing it though. I had a whole montage scene playing in my head to “Eye of the Tiger”, with him doing push-ups, and step aerobics, and sweating to the oldies. He get’s super-fit about 1:25 into it.

15 Responses to “Office Adventure: Make A New Year’s Resolution”

  1. Lifes Highway (@lifeshighway) December 29, 2011 at 8:57 am #

    Remorse, you say. I sincerely doubt that having the cold heart of a shark. Social media is a muscle that has to be conditioned. And as you are flexing your twitter, someone comes up with a great new app on Google Chrome. (my newest work toy). It’s like having a phone only it’s a computer… how did the my world get reversed.

    Meanwhile I am still trying to figure out how to work my neat kindle fire pad into all of this.

    II wrote my entries using note pad or word pad (insert appropriate Mac tool here) at work and then dropped it in when I got home.

    Now the responding to comments thing… you are on your own kid….

    Great plug (btw)

    • sharkables December 31, 2011 at 6:11 am #

      I have a small heart rattling around inside here somewhere… enough to plug my own mom at least!

      Thanks for the sage social media advice. It took me 1 1/2 days to respond but its still 2011, so it doesn’t count yet.

  2. Sandra Parsons December 29, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    And doesn’t he look smashing in his sweat band!
    I don’t usually do New Year’s resolutions, so I’m a bit rusty. Would it be ok to resolve to hop over to your mom’s every now and then and comment on your behalf?
    Happy New Year and don’t let work get you down. I don’t think I could bear all depressed and glum sharkables.

    • sharkables December 31, 2011 at 6:16 am #

      Oh that would be great! Just pop over there, say something mildly sarcastic (pertaining or non-pertaining to her blog post) and then move along. She probably won’t even notice the difference! Win/win for everyone I think.

  3. Fred Wanner December 29, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    That’s what I look like on a treadmill. The only thing missing is the beer and cigar.

    • sharkables December 31, 2011 at 6:18 am #

      Haha that’s great, way to maintain a perfect homeostasis between healthy/non-healthy while you’re working out.

  4. Cap'n Stephel December 29, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    If I wasn’t reading this at work, I would have lol’d at the shark on the treadmill. How does it, uh, run? Does it hop instead?

    • sharkables December 31, 2011 at 6:20 am #

      I imagine them moving forward by shuffling side to side, kind of like a cross between a penguin and a snake. Maybe if they do it fast enough they could run pretty well. Or maybe it’s a really slow treadmill. Does that help at all?

  5. Nicolle December 29, 2011 at 3:52 pm #

    I love how he has a little sweat band on his fin and the wider gills make it look like he’s breathing really hard.

    I never understand companies that don’t allow full access to social networking sites (or the internet in general). It always makes me wonder what they’re afraid of. Less productivity? Hardly, because being able to take short breaks from any task actually helps productivity. I’m very thankful that where I work allows us to access pretty much any site and we have free reign on social sites. The only thing I could think of is using you’re smart phone or tablet if you have either of those. As for battling for access at home, no wireless?

    As for new goals? Cooking more, reading more (and drinking more to keep with my blog’s theme) and keeping up with my blog and I’m also planning a 365 Project for photography.

    • sharkables December 31, 2011 at 6:24 am #

      I love the very subtle yellow sweat stains on his shirt. No ones called that one out yet though!

      My company is a little restrictive… we have a no smartphone policy so that wont work either. So really it’s a matter of me sucking it up and making it a priority at home haha.

      And sounds like you are busy next year! It almost makes me want to throw in another resolution, but the thought of keeping track of two goals is preemptively exhausting me.

  6. Rob Rubin December 30, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    Thanks for the plug…and potentially alerting my superiors as to what I actually do all day at work. lol.

    • sharkables December 31, 2011 at 6:30 am #

      Oooo my B, there goes that social media saviness I’m talking about. I’ll fix it and cleverly disguise your name to make it less google-able.

      Maybe you should start going by a pseudonym… something with some pizazz that’ll really stand out and sound awesome…how about Newsables?

      • Auth November 19, 2012 at 12:32 am #

        aika September 22, 2009 eeewwwyou made me rleziae isa akong malaking third wheel!!!sabi ko nga ba na dapat hindi kita sinamahan nun eh di sana mas may moment kayo nun hahaha. joke lang yoshke. leche ka, kinikilig ako sa kabadingan mo. ang haba ng hair mo ha! me likes this to infinity and beyond!

  7. Grace January 1, 2012 at 6:44 am #

    Hullo! Just dropping a com bomb to say you are most witty and awfully funny. Top marks sir! hehe

Leave a Reply

