Office Survival Tip: Recovering From a Long, Unplanned Abscence

17 Feb

Office Survival Tip: Recovering From a Long, Unplanned Absence

The best way to recover from a long, unplanned absence from work, life, or blogging is to briefly explain yourself to your boss/significant others/readers, let them know when things’ll be back to normal, and then continue on as though nothing happened.

My absence was partially due to non-blog related issues, and mostly due to a work/life/blog/art/chores/family balance that needed to be worked out. But Sharkables should be back to normal sometime next week (complete with illustrations!).

As some of you may have noticed, I attempted to remodel my homepage this morning. As some of you may also have noticed, my remodeling skills are close to nil. Unfortunately WordPress doesn’t seem to have a “Revert to previous, superior design” button, so whoopsie. Sorry to my resident blog designer for leaving a path of blog design destruction in my wake. Sorry to my readers for having to deal with a confusing and visually unappetizing layout. Well actually, it should probably be more like sorry for my laziness, because I’m not motivated enough to actually go and fix said crappy layout right now.

Anywho, I have some exciting new ideas for Sharkables. These exciting new ideas were the main impetus for attempting said blog redesign. So thank you brain for your charming mix of creative ideas paired with lack of follow-through.

Exciting Idea Number 1: I plan to start writing Sharkables again, which I think is an excellent move in the right direction, although I will probably slow down my posts to only 1 per week.

Exciting Idea Number 2: I’d like to start offering limited runs of signed, numbered (and potentially framed!) prints of my Sharkables illustrations on high-quality cardstock. I’m interested in seeing if anyone is interested in having an exclusive piece of Sharkable memorabilia for their displaying pleasure. I hear they make excellent gifts for obscure holidays (Boss’s day, eh?) and retirement parties. They can also really snazz up a bland looking cubicle or home office! The amount of interest I get will set my prices and print length. I’m thinking $50 per signed, numbered print, and limiting to 10 prints per illustration. And once their gone their gone for that illustration. Of course I’m always open to suggestions! Too high, too low, more/fewer prints, etc. I’m interested in hearing anyone’s ideas. I’ll be following up with another page giving the “deets” (cool speak for details) in the future. I also had the exciting idea for a calendar, but I may have to wait another 10 months for that opportunity to roll around again.

Exciting Idea Number 3: In related news, I’m posting a link to my Personal Art website BostWork.com. I’ve been keeping the two separate, but sometimes I get cross inquiries about my blog and my online portfolio. In addition to drawing shark cartoons, I also paint and do other semi-artsy things. Besides, you can go there and see the original illustrations that inspired my blog, which is potentially entertaining.

So thanks everyone for your patience. And on a brighter note I have an exciting new post planned for next week on lunch breaks! Exciting!

18 Responses to “Office Survival Tip: Recovering From a Long, Unplanned Abscence”

  1. lams21075 February 17, 2012 at 2:58 pm #

    Welcome Back! Looking forward to seeing the new posts.

    • sharkables February 17, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

      Thanks! Look forward to writing them again!

  2. lifeshighwaygame February 17, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    What the heck did you do…. Someone’s web designer is going to be very unhappy.

    But yeah, you are back!!! I would be in line to by a print.

    • sharkables February 17, 2012 at 4:07 pm #

      Yeah… WordPress shouldn’t make changing themes so easy…Sometime between the second and third theme change I lost my banner but gained a sidebar, so maybe it evens out? But regardless, thanks for the support!

      • Dibakar November 18, 2012 at 11:50 pm #

        Great roundup! The Eventlet becarmnhk could benefit from a little tweaking. I used the following code and achieved significantly better performance.from eventlet.green import socketfrom eventlet import api,hubshubs.use_hub(“pyevent”) def handle_socket(sock): sock.sendall(“HTTP/1.0 200 OK\r\nContent-Length: 5\r\n\r\nPong!\r\n”) sock.close() server = socket.socket()server.bind((‘localhost’, 8030))server.listen(500)while True: try: new_sock, address = server.accept() except KeyboardInterrupt: break # handle every new connection with a new coroutine api.spawn(handle_socket, new_sock)The major difference here is that makefile() and its consequent object creation cost are not called. This alone makes a big difference, and has the side benefit of being more readable and closer in spirit to the other tests.Also, this code uses pyevent for event dispatching. Pyevent is disabled by default within Eventlet because it is not compatible with threads, but in this sort of test, it provides better performance.

  3. Rob Rubin February 17, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    Glad to see your back. I missed your posts. But I totally get the work/life/blogging balance thing. Unfortunately there will be no balance for me as I’m preparing to move The Mainland to my own host as of April 1st.

    I will be looking for advertisers, and would love to advertise your drawings on the new site when it’s up if you like.

    • sharkables February 17, 2012 at 4:10 pm #

      Ah congratulations! I know very little of advertisting (such as, why the hell did advertisements suddenly appear on my posts??), but would be honored to plug myself on your site! I even learned about blog rolls today during my brief remodeling stint, so I’ll be sure to add you whenever I get that all fixed up!

      • Terrion November 19, 2012 at 3:19 am #

        Hi Henk,Thanks for the remarks and opienng up concurrence! I was not able to find any known license on the concurrence website or the repo. I only found this on Github. As I am not that versed in the license-business I just named it Hyves to be sure. But since you say it is supposed to be MIT, i will update the matrix. Btw, this matrix does have a column ‘test’. But I agree that this doesn’t really say much.Benchmarking a lot of different frameworks is hard and i cut some corners here and there. Monitoring memory usage is one of them, maybe i’ll do this in the upcoming cross-language benchmark.

  4. Fred Wanner February 17, 2012 at 4:04 pm #

    Fantastic to see you back. The prints are a great idea.

    • sharkables February 17, 2012 at 4:14 pm #

      Thank you sir! And thanks for your input!

  5. attemptedblog February 17, 2012 at 4:34 pm #

    Welcome back, you were missed!

  6. Nicolle February 17, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

    Woohoo!!! You’re back. I smiled when I saw you back on my “read blogs” section.
    I think it’s a great idea for you to sell your work!! Can’t wait for the details.

    • sharkables February 17, 2012 at 8:08 pm #

      That’s awesome to hear! And I’ll post more as I nail down all the details with the prints, it’s always great to hear everyone’s thoughts and suggestions as well!

    • Jim November 19, 2012 at 12:54 am #

      I feel this is largely miiisformnng to someone who doesn’t understand how the frameworks work as the approaches and architectures wildly differ:For example, would fork in two processes and that’s the only reason it won the benchmark. It’s a nice feature but one could argue that this should be handled elsewhere (loadbalancer/clustering).gevent is largely written in C (well, pyrex apparently) and that’s the reason it’s the second fastest (it would clearly win if would run in single process mode).Also, the code approaches differ, some start coroutines/greenlets/whateverlets on a new connection and some don’t. This is a very important difference and the results can differ much depending on this aspect.The error rates worry me – I think it’s a good exercise to find out why they happen. I would add portability and test code coverage to the comparison table.

  7. Ashok Kumar February 21, 2012 at 4:28 am #

    Glad you are back! And may I suggest you to change the theme color from green to blue.

  8. Allen February 21, 2012 at 11:02 pm #

    I’d be interested in buying a print

  9. Hema November 19, 2012 at 2:33 am #

    The benchmarked does NOT poerrfk and thus uses only one process. This functionality has only been added very recently to the trunk.I don’t really think it is an issue how a certain framework has been implemented. The end user only cares about the ease of use and its performance. Not wether the heavy lifting is being done by an external library (such as libevent) or an optimized inner loop.I agree with you that there is some inconsistency with the functionality of the different implementations. A more thorough test could make those irrelevant. Ie, instead of a single ping-pong make the respond to multiple ‘ping!’ requests by a single client, each fired with a certain interval.

Leave a Reply

